This weekend’s Rome E-Prix doubleheader will feature a unique all-rookie practice session, which will take place ahead of free practice 1 on Friday.

Titled as ‘Free Practice 0’, each team will field one driver in the 30-minute session at the temporary Circuito Cittadino dell’EUR.

To be eligible for the session, each driver must have never competed in a Formula E race before or feature on the Season 9 Entry List.

Rome won’t represent the first rookie session of the 2022/23 season, as a full day of testing for 23 newcomers took place following the Berlin E-Prix.

At the test back in April, reigning DTM Champion Sheldon van der Linde topped the morning session for Jaguar, before Aston Martin F1 reserve Felipe Drugovich ended the afternoon on top for Maserati.

Both drivers will appear for their respected sides again in Rome, as will several other drivers who also featured in the German capital.

Out of the 11 drivers competing in FP0, 10 of them participated in the Berlin test.

The sole exception is two-time WTCR Champion Yann Ehrlacher, who’ll be driving for DS Penske.

It will remarkably be Ehrlacher’s first experience in single-seater racing; however, he has completed sessions in the simulator for the LA-based outfit.

“I am thrilled to get the opportunity to drive the new Formula E GEN3 race car,” Ehrlacher said.

“It’s a championship which is growing every day, and has a different approach compared with other racing series, and that is why this is so interesting.

“I am very excited for the session in Rome which is one of the most amazing venues on the Season 9 calendar.”

Elsewhere, Formula 2 drivers Jehan Daruvala and Zane Maloney will be driving for Mahindra and Andretti respectively in the Italian capital, whilst ex-F2 driver Luca Ghiotto will be behind the wheel once again of Nissan’s e-4ORCE 04.

Constructors’ Championship leaders Porsche will be fielding Chinese star Yifei Ye, whilst Envision are set to be represented by Brit Jack Aitken.

A lot of eyes will likely be on NIO 333, given that former Red Bull driver Daniil Kvyat is driving for the team in the session. Kvyat is keen on an FE seat next season, meaning a good performance could be crucial to him achieving his goal.

FP0 will take place this Friday at 13:30 GMT, followed by the traditional weekend format – FP1 will commence at 16:00 GMT.

Full FP0 Entry List:

TeamDriverTAG Heuer Porsche Formula E TeamYifei YeEnvision RacingJack AitkenJaguar TCS RacingSheldon van der LindeAvalanche Andretti Formula EZane MaloneyDS PenskeYann EhrlacherMaserati MSG RacingFelipe DrugovichNEOM McLaren Formula E TeamCharlie EastwoodNissan Formula E TeamLuca GhiottoMahindra RacingJehan DaruvalaABT CUPRA Formula E TeamAdrien Tambay

Source:  Read More 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *