Indy NXT Series runner-up Hunter McElrea has signed with the #11 TDS Racing LMP2 team as their Endurance driver, whilst Steven Thomas and Mikkel Jensen remain as full-season drivers.

The New Zealander will make his IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship debut at the 24 Hours of Daytona on January 27-28 next year.

He finished second in the Indycar feeder championship to become vice-champion, as only Christian Rasmussen finished higher than him in the standings.

Charles Milesi, who competed for Alpine in the 2023 FIA World Endurance Championship, will join McElrea and retained full-season drivers Thomas and Jensen at the Daytona 24 Hours to complete the #11 Oreca 07 crew.

McElrea announced via a statement on Instagram: “Very happy to be joining this mega driver line-up and team.

“I’ve had races like Daytona 24 Hours and Petit Le Mans on my bucket list so I can’t wait.

“Can’t thank these guys enough for the opportunity.

“Going to do everything I can to help Mikkel and Steven get the (Endurance Cup) championship.”

2024 IMSA Endurance Cup in LMP2 with @tdsracing

Very happy to be joining this mega driver lineup and team. I’ve had races like Daytona 24 Hours and Petit Lemans on my bucket list so I can’t wait!

Can’t thank these guys enough for the opportunity. #Daytona24 #IMSA

— Hunter McElrea (@HunterMcElrea) November 9, 2023

The #11 line-up finished third in the LMP2 Endurance Cup standings after last month’s Petit Le Mans IMSA finale, albeit with Scott Huffaker’s efforts.

Thomas and Jensen won at the Laguna Seca and Indianapolis sprint races last year in the LMP2 class, en route to the pair also finishing third in the overall WeatherTech standings.

An increased field of LMP2 cars will sustain the excitement in the 2024 season, although TDS will only run one Oreca 07 as opposed to two during their maiden 2023 campaign.

Jensen, as a Peugeot Hypercar driver, potentially overlooks a clash between the WEC 6 Hours of Sao Paulo and the IMSA Canadian Tire Motorsport Park round.

For the LMP2 class, their calendar will commence with Daytona, followed by the 12 Hours of Sebring.

After a three-month gap to June, a third-consecutive six-hour Endurance round awaits them at Watkins Glen, before the Chevrolet Grand Prix – at the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park – and the Road America sprint races.

The Battle on the Bricks will be a six-hour Endurance Cup round in 2024, before the traditional Petit Le Mans season finale.

Source:  Read More 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *