Max Verstappen’s dominant Formula 1 campaign this year has
delivered him a third World Championship as he has taken a record
17 victories (and counting). Red Bull’s strong race pace during the
Grands Prix has helped Verstappen en route to his run of wins.
However, qualifying sessions have not always gone his and Red
Bull’s way, with nine outings this year seeing someone other than
Verstappen taking pole position. Although he will end the season
with the most wins in a single season, the same record can’t be
achieved for pole positions. That record currently sits with
Sebastian Vettel who secured 15 pole positions during his dominant
2011 title-winning campaign. Verstappen joining the legends Last
time out in Brazil Verstappen scored his 11th pole of the campaign,
achieving the same tallies as Mika Hakkinen (1999), Michael
Schumacher (2001), Nico Rosberg (2014) and Lewis Hamilton (2015,
2017 and 2018). But should he take one more pole position in the
remaining two rounds this year, Verstappen will equal Hamilton’s 12
in a season from 2016. It remains the seven-time World Champion’s
highest number of pole positions in a single year, despite losing
the championship that season to Nico Rosberg. If Verstappen takes
pole position at both events in Las Vegas and Abu Dhabi, he will
tie for third with Ayrton Senna (1988 and 1989) and Alain Prost
(1993). Ahead of the two legends is 1992 Formula 1 World Champion
Nigel Mansell who managed 14 pole positions during his
title-winning campaign at the wheel of the famous Williams FW14B

Source:  Read More 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *